Ida Wins Again

Prize Winner

Prize Winner

The LUX Prize recently went to “Ida”, a film directed by Paweł Pawlikowski. The prize was presented by Martin Schulz, chairman of the European Parliament, at a plenary session in Strasbourg. Martin Schulz emphasised that European film help to better understand “our own history and the history of our neighbours”. This film is about the search for identity that reveals the tragic secrets and paradoxes that took place in Poland in the last century. “Ida” is a short black-and-white film without music, shot with an almost stationary camera. At first glance it seems gloomy and bleak, but it has already touched many people’s hearts in all European countries. The action takes place at the beginning of the 1960s. Anna, a young novice nun (starring Agata Trzebuchowska) meets her only relative Wanda Gruz (played by Agata Kulesza). Anna finds out from her aunt that she is Jewish and her real name is Ida Lebenstein. She also learns the terrible truth about her parents who were murdered during the war. The confrontation with her past becomes a real test of faith for the prospective nun. Pawlikowski said that it was a great honour for him to be present at the ceremony and receive the prize for “Ida”. The LUX Prize was established in the 2007 and is recognized by the European Parliament.

Click here to get Newzar by email


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s