Great Architecture from Poland

POLIN Museum

POLIN Museum

The Silesian Museum in Katowice, the Philharmonic Hall in Szczecin, and the POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews in Warsaw have entered prestigious “Mies van der Rohe” best building competition. The winner will receive the title of best European building of the last two years. The five finalists will be announced in May, and in February, we will know the name of the winner. The best building will be awarded €60,000. The Museum of the History of Polish Jews is among the favourites for the main prize. Last time, the “Mies van der Rohe” award went to the Harpa building in Reykjavik, which contains three concert halls and a conference hall. It was designed by architects from Henning Larsen Architects and Studio Olafur Eliasson. The prize is awarded by the European Commission, European Parliament and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation in Barcelona, and is considered to be the most prestigious awards in contemporary architecture. Its patron, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1886-1969), was one of the most important architects of the 20th century. The prize has been awarded every two years since 1987.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s