Where will Wolves, Bobcats and Moose go?

Before Poland becomes cut up by highways and super-fast roads, we need to design and create tunnels for wild animals. The underground tunnels designed by the Mammal Research Institute in Białowieża would be part of the European Nature 2000 network. It would primarily protect routes frequented by animals, sylvan areas and river valleys. According to Professor Włodzimierz Jędrzejewski, the construction of highways constitutes a major threat to wild animals such as the bobcat, moose or bear. Migration is essential for them to survive and preserve the genetic disparity which is a necessary condition for keeping the species genetically strong. It is claimed that a single bobcat needs territory of up to 350 square kilometers, while a pack of wolves needs from 90 to 350 square kilometers. Such tunnels have already been successfully employed in other European countries such as Germany and Austria. Recently an over-land tunnel was constructed in Rzepińska Forest. The key criteria for these ‘corridors’ to be usable for animals are that they have to be undistinguishable from the natural environment, 50 to 60 meters wide and covered with local plants. At the moment the Urban Development Agency in Lublin is cooperating with the Mammal Research Institute to create a map of the ecological corridors in Lublin Province. The project also imposes certain demands on road developers: they will have to enable animals to migrate freely.
Gazeta Wyborcza

7 thoughts on “Where will Wolves, Bobcats and Moose go?

  1. I’m not sure if I am doing this right or not but my Grandpa & Grandma lived in Mielec Poland and they had children by the name of Anthony, Walter, Stanislawa and some others that I don’t remember. My uncle Walter had a daughter named Danusia. I am just wanting to know if any of my cousins that came from this family are still there. I never met any of my relatives in Poland but my mother often talked about them. If you can help me with this I would really appreciate it. Thank You

    Diane (Czarnecki) Kudla

    Like

    1. Hi!
      I came across your post and a couple things popped my interest. ( I am researching ancestry info as I am planning a trip to Poland). I am Danusia (Danuta) Uzar daughter to Walter Uzar. I live in the US and my dad (Walter) resides in New Jersey. If you receive this post and want to exchange additional information, feel free to contact me. Best Regards

      Diane Uzar Conklin

      Like

Leave a comment